Thread: Thyoid Question page

Rebekah is offline Junior Member

Thyoid Question

Primal Fuel
    I got my lab results back for my thyroid, and I was wondering if someone could look them over to see if they're okay. My doctor didn't seem to think I had a thyroid issue. I'm a little unconvinced; I feel like I have a lot of the symptoms of hypothyroidism (consistently low energy, inability to lose weight, low body temp [97.4], lack of ovulation, mental health issues, etc.), but I'm not sure how to interpret the lab work.

T3 Uptake - 31.2% [REF: 22.5 - 37.0]
    TSH - 1.043 uIU/mL [REF: 0.350 - 5.500]
    T4 (Total) - 6.6 uh/dL [REF: 4.7 - 11.4]
    Free T4 - 0.88 ng/dL [REF: 0.89 - 1.76]
    Free T3 - 2.21 pg/mL [REF: 2.3 - 4.20]

What do you think? Any advice would be appreciated!

Beauty is offline Senior Member
    You have low FT4 and low FT3. These could be the cause of your symptoms. I'm just learning about this myself, but I've been directed to a really good website where I suggest you ask the forum there about your results too:

http://www.realthyroidhelp.com/

Also this is an Excellent book: http://www.amazon.com/Still-Thyroid-.../dp/1600376703

Good luck on this journey. It seems to be quite complicated, but being primal is definitely a step in the right direction!

DeadRockstar is offline Junior Member
    I'm afraid I know nothing about thyroid specifics, but all the symptoms you're describing could also be indicative of overtraining, lack of sleep or being in a deficit for too long.

You say you've stopped losing weight, so I assume you've been in a deficit for a while. Have you tried doing a refeed and then measuring body temp next morning?

Eklecktika is offline Senior Member
    You should look into hypopituitary. You have below range frees, with low TSH.

There ought to be bells going off everywhere!