Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hi everyone, I'm new to Paleo and I have a 50 mile run, some tips would be great page

Ernst is offline Member

Hi everyone, I'm new to Paleo and I have a 50 mile run, some tips would be great

Primal Fuel
    So I just started my Paleo diet to improve my athletic performance about a month ago and I feel really good. Gave my body some time to adjust and just started jogging last night. It was really hard but after 20 minutes of agony my body started adjusting and I felt like I could go on for a lot longer. Pretty good for not having jogged in weeks. I would say I was running at about 8-9mph and was doing great and I definitely felt great.

To all the marathoners that have run 50miles, I am curious at what average speed were you running at? 7mph? 6? And how long did it take you to finish the 50 miles, as I am soon going to run 50 miles in the coming month and would like some input from someone experienced in running and PB. The math says that it would take a little under 8 hrs to finish 50 miles at a pace of 7mph. I'm assuming it is recommended to slow down the pace and then get back into rhythm and speed. Would you finish the whole 50miles or would you take a break half way and snack on something? I'm not new to running but this will be a first for me to run over 20miles and also on super low carb, compared to my old diet, CARBO LOADDDD!!!

My diet is simple but very strict paleo, no dairy, no grain, no starches, no salt & only natural occurring sugars . I eat about 2-3 fruits a day, lots of varied vegetables, wide variety of mixed nuts and seeds (paleo) and I make sure I get all my fats and then some. I probably average about 50-60 carbs a day, sometimes, lower and often not much higher. I could easily cut back on fruits to only 1 a day (should I)? which would leave my carb intake to under 25g but I feel I might be malnourished if I don't get enough fruits!!! lol.