Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What training should I do for my heart? page

rca1824 is offline Junior Member

What training should I do for my heart?

Shop Now
    I must have a very weak heart because my resting heart rate is 80bpm. I get winded walking up more than two flights of stairs or even just walking briskly. If I try to jog, it doesn't take long until my heart rate is spiking up to 180bpm, even at what others would consider to be a slow pace.

Right now I am lifting heavy weights 2-3 days a week, walking about 12-15 miles per week, and doing sprints in the park once or twice a month when I can get there. I have been doing the weights for seven years, the walking for two months, and the sprints for for one month.

If I keep sticking to the sprints and do them more frequently at once a week, will this be enough to increase my heart strength and get my resting heart rate down to a more fit 40-50bpm? I'm a bit perplexed as to what I can do since chronic cardio and jogging are out of the question on the primal blueprint.

Hampshire Girl is offline Junior Member
    Are you taking your resting heart rate correctly? It doesn't just mean while sitting, it means first thing in the morning before you've even thought about leaving your bed as an ideal, or at least 2-4 hours after exercise after sitting for 30 mins.

If you have a HR monitor, you can do run/walk intervals without straying into chronic cardio. PBP suggests 55-75% of your max and if you are unfit cardiovascularly this will allow for a little jogging with walk recovery intervals. You can use 220 - your age as a rough gulde to max, or there are plenty of suggestions online about how to measure your own max. In theory this will allow for improvement to the aerobic system and the sprinting will take care of the rest.

At least, that's how I understand it, I'm sure someone more knowledgable will be along shortly :-)

EagleRiverDee is online now Senior Member