Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Nuts and Seeds: HELP page

ikaika is offline Senior Member

Nuts and Seeds: HELP

Primal Fuel
    Alright. My body composition isn't where I want it to be. I AM PRIMAL. And yet, I'm completely stuck... and have been for years. Come on! I don't eat grains, I don't eat sugars, I take fish oil and multivitamins-- I'm doing everything right! Well, almost. The only thing I have left is a complete, unwavering, utter addiction, to nuts. And seeds. And nut-butters.

I work in a store with a glorious, magnificent bulk section. Imagine, your favorite addiction, laid before you by the dozens of pounds. Endless bins of macadamia nuts, pistachios, raw deluxe mixes, raw cashews, dry-roasted unsalted cashews, sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds, glorious soft local pecans, and of course, the end-all--- fresh ground almond butter. On work days, I imagine I eat two or three cups of nuts.

I'm tired of feeling guilty after a few handfuls. I'm tired of going home from work with a stomachache.
    I'm tired of knowing that I'm gorging like a fool, and yet-- I cannot stop. The 'Just a bit' thing does not work for me. I'm eating nut-butters with spoons at night! I have succeeded, ONCE, in refraining from nuts for a complete day, and I felt magnificently in control.

So, I'm putting this out there. Maybe that will pressure me. I'm not going to eat nuts-- I'm going to try for one month, see how I feel, see how I look. I have GOT to stop! After that, maybe they'll find a reasonable place in my diet, and I will welcome them-- but right now, I have to get this in check.

No more. One month.

-写

P.S. Except coconuts.

gottaluvalab is offline Senior Member
    Do you have a "gateway nut"?

If I eat cashews, I'm done for with any nut within snacking distance! Otherwise, I am relatively indifferent.

Perhaps you don't need to give up ALL nuts?

Stabby is offline Senior Member
    Damn right, ain't nobody better be dissin' coconuts.