I really do have a serious case of wanderlust! Sometimes it conflicts with my career ambitions (i.e. I don't work in a field where employers are likely to give you a full months' leave to travel, let alone half a year!), but I plan to spend the rest of my life exploring this awesome planet to the maximum extent possible

I'm a lawyer, living in Ottawa, and am now firmly in my mid-30s. I turned 34 about 3 weeks ago, and it's like a switch went on in my brain about how much time I have left in this world. I know, it sounds dramatic. But seeing my parents and grandparents fall apart from lifestyle diseases (in my family, diabetes is the precursor to heart disease and dementia/Alzheimers), and realizing that I could start to see some of those same issues in the next decade (my parents first started having issues with diabetes in their 40s) has really made me realize that I need to make some changes.

In a nutshell: I am a long-time lurker, and first discovered the incredibly detrimental impact of a low-fat, high-carb diet on my physical and mental health in my early 20s. I have struggled with my weight, along with depression and anxiety, since I was a child, and actually had the symptoms of so-called "metabolic syndrome" in my early 20s. I was diagnosed at that time with PCOS. Following that diagnosis, I lost weight over a period of 2 years, going from 260 to about 190. I maintained that loss for several years, but since law school, I have yo-yo-ed, and about two years ago, ended up back at 260 or so. I had several bouts of depression and anxiety, including a horrible period in 2010 when I considered suicide. All of this was accompanied by the re-emergence of my binge eating disorder. Dealing with that was complicated, as several foods actually trigger binge eating for me; but I also had to scale back in classifying foods as good/bad and from obsessing over what I ate, and my weight, in order to get over the myriad issues wrapped up in my eating disorder.