Thread: Your Mission, should you choose to accept it... (voodoo-anarchy) page

voodoo-anarchy is offline Junior Member

Your Mission, should you choose to accept it... (voodoo-anarchy)

Hi, I'm VD. I'll just c/p a short intro from my meet-n-greet post.

Backstory

I'm a college student studying to become a licensed dietician, and boy, let me just say, it's been a heck of a time parsing all the doublespeak in my textbooks and lectures. After lurking around this site and the forums for roughly 1.5 years, I've decided to formally register and join this lovely community.

I was brought to this site ultimately by a diagnosis of PCOS. After being treated (and trying to treat myself) with CW, only to find myself even worse off, I had the fortune of reading Michael Pollan's The Omnivore's Dilemma. It was his copious references to Gary Taube's Good Calories, Bad Calories that finally convinced me to give GCBC a go. I wasn't disappointed.

I started out with Atkins and moved onto Paleo after being convinced quality of food mattered more than quantity of carbs. Unfortunately, due to some mystery foods at the dorm and the radical change from low fat to low carb (all while taking BCP and without any insulin-lowering medication like i should have been prescribed in the first place), I gained 35 pounds in 5 months.

I've lost 15 of those pounds in one year, and I intend to lose 15 more. However, I've been unconsciously segueing into a maintenance mode. My main issues are that my eating patterns are somewhat erratic while at school, and that my exercise is inconsistent.

My extra-paleo interests include japanese comics, fiction writing, and learning foreign languages.

Diet Tactics

Lots of Chinese vegetables and conventional meat (beef, chicken, pork, eggs) with 4-6 tablespoons of coconut oil per day. 1/2 cup Fruit every other day, consisting of berries or figs. Usually mixed in with Fage yogurt or sour cream and cocoa.

The Paleocity of my diet: