Thread: Tailoring Primal eating for a skinny guy page

arewolfe is offline Junior Member

Tailoring Primal eating for a skinny guy

Primal Fuel
    Hi all, thanks for all the great information and topics on this forum.

I've been visiting this site for about 6 months. I grabbed The Primal Blueprint and started reading it a few days ago. I agree with everything I've read so far, but I have one concern that I'd be interested to hear all of your input on: What affects could eating Primal do to a very skinny person eating around 100g carbs per day?

The book seems directed towards folks who are trying to lose weight. I'm 6 feet, 130 pounds, 27 y/o male, upper end of moderately active. I already eat very similar to Primal (except I eat raw dairy from my local farmer, mostly cheese, yogurt and kefir I make myself). I keep noticing that Mark mentions that if you're consuming around 100g carbs daily you will be shedding fat. At my weight this is something I DON'T want to do. So I'm wondering two things:

1- What benefits does the PB way of eating offer for someone my size (i.e. skinny guy not trying to lose weight).
    2- How (if at all) should I tweak Primal eating considering my size?

Once in a while I will buy bread from my farmer, mostly because I want to support him as much as possible because he's struggling, so I try to maximize the amount of food I buy from him each week. I enjoy eating it even though I'm on the verge of eliminating all grains. I eliminated sugar 10 months ago, except for eating fruit and maple syrup [I live in NH]. Is it less important to 100% eliminate grain for someone who is not trying to lose weight? My ex-girlfriend always told me that bread was terrible because it puts unnecessary stress on your body since it's difficult to digest. Any comments on that?