Thread: Supplements, is it worth it, what to take?

Supplements, is it worth it, what to take?

Shop Now
    I'm still fairly new with the primal lifestyle and I'm seeking a little guidance on what (if anything) I should be taking. Let me start out by saying this, I'm pretty damn skeptical of supplements in general, but considering the testimonials and advice I've been given, I'm at least going to entertain the idea.

The basics...
    30yo male, 180lbs
    Fitness: Crossfit 3x a week almost always the 5am class.
    Goal: lose 15lbs of bf and gain whatever muscle CF 3x a week will get me

I've been told that taking creatine and an amino acid (spark?) pre workout is all I really need, does this sound about right? As you can see I don't have crazy goals, I really just want to get the most out of my effort.

Sent from my iPad using Marks Daily Apple Forum

Whey protein can be useful

Creatine is probably a good idea, as far as performance goes

Beta Alanine appears to work pretty well too. I'm still looking into that one myself

BCAA's are good when you're not eating, or when you're eating protein sources with insufficient BCAA's.
    The Champagne of Beards

I normally drink a protein shake mixed with whole milk post workout, but I look at that more as breakfast than an actual "supplement"

Well I say if your nutrition is otherwise where you think it should be, research the safety and effectiveness of both creatine and beta alanine, draw your own conclusions, and consider adding them accordingly. Were you asking about other nutrition supplements, or mainly performance-based ones?
    The Champagne of Beards

I'm focused on performance and building muscle, the weight is coming off pretty consistently at 1-2lbs per week, so I think I got my diet under control.