Any ladies with weird thyroid numbers?
    I hope it's ok to ask here.
    My TSH IS 1.2
    And free t4 1.1

Doc wants me on meds... Anyone?
    Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Marks Daily Apple Forum

emmie is offline Senior Member
    I don't know why your doctor would want you on meds. Your TSH at 1.2 is considered 'ideal.' I have no idea what your T4 number means as the lab range is necessary for evaluation, but, again, the initial diagnosis depends on the TSH, and yours is perfect.

I've been hypothyroid for about 15 years, so I have some experience with this stuff.

zuzanac is offline Member
    Thank you emie.
    I have all symptoms of hypo and since the free t4 is low normal range, she thinks .25 Levo is something to try..

Neckhammer is offline Senior Member
    I would require a full panel prior to any decisions. For all we know you may just need more selenium.

zuzanac is offline Member
    I will look into it.
    Thank you

emmie is offline Senior Member
    Yeah, I know that there is 'subclinical hypothyroidism' when the labs don't yet reflect the deficiency, but just that low T4 in the absence of a full panel doesn't seem worth starting Rx hormones. Both of my endos have told me that once you begin, it's for life. When the body receives the supplemental hormones, it adjusts to them so that they are then a necessity.

In your situation, I'd get more tests before beginning. Keep in mind that although you're symptomatic, thyroid symptoms are vague and can be due to other sources. That's why it's so difficult to get a diagnosis when the labs don't reflect the problem.

It's also possible that your doctor is absolutely right, but a little more testing wouldn't hurt. The minimum TSH level for hypo is 3.0, but most doctors will treat someone who has a TSH as low as 2.0 AND is symptomatic. Lower than 2.0 I've never known a doctor to prescribe.

Ron_Swanson is online now Senior Member