Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Never Again page

funderful is offline Member

Red face Never Again

Shop Now
    I'm so glad I found this site and a place to track my transition and hold myself accountable. I'd thought about starting a blog, but didn't want to go that far. I'm going to get to get healthy and stay there!

So here's my story:

I've always been a big girl. I weight 160 by 7th grade and 223 by the time I graduated high school. I remember the exact numbers because I was weighed by a doctor and completely shocked at my weight. But I remember distinctly speaking with a nutritionist after high school who was so unhelpful. She talked to me as if I understood calories and fats and carbs and all that. I didn't understand a thing. All I knew was that my mother served us a vegetable, a carb and a meat at every meal--and even though we almost always ate at home, it wasn't always that healthy.

Fast forward a year and I was down 40 lbs. When everyone else gained the freshmen 15, I was losing. I'd moved to CA for school and my diet completely changed simply due to the food they made available in the cafeteria. It was very healthy. And i began working out 3x a week as part of a mandatory health class.

But I moved back to the east coast after my first year and my diet went downhill. They didn't serve healthy food at my new school, it was all pizza, burgers, friends, etc. At that point, I still didn't understand anything about food and health so I just figured I would work out more to lose the weight I was putting on. I worked out 2 hours a day. I continued my work out regimen for several years and manage to slow my weight gain to about 5 lbs a year. Well, that added up over the years.