Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Taking antibotics during pregnancy page

maba is offline Senior Member

Taking antibotics during pregnancy

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    I'm 30 weeks pregnant and recently contracted UTI. My midwife has told me that I'd have to take antibiotics, but he's waiting for further test results to see what bacteria I have and then prescribe an antibiotic to treat this specific bacteria. Are antibiotics safe to take during pregnancy? I've had bad experience with antibiotics in the past personally. But I want to what is best for baby right now. Are there any natural remedies to combat UTI? I've been drinking lots of water and also cranberry juice.

Puddymama is offline Senior Member
    I am by NO means an expert, so this is just my $.02 - I would take the antibiotics. You absolutely do not want to play around with a kidney infection during pregnancy. However, I would also take probiotics to make sure your gut stays happy.

I had a course of antibiotics during my delivery and then another course two weeks later for a UTI. I think it really messed up by DD's gut - she had a lot of food sensitivities, skin issues, sleeping troubles and blood in her stool. We got through all of that by an elimination diet that lead us towards a primal lifestyle, so it all worked out in the end. There was nothing I could do to prevent the antibiotics, so my only real key learning there was to make sure to take the probiotics as well.

Congratulations on the baby - it's such an exciting itme!

FairyRae is offline Senior Member
    You can also take cranberry capsules (my sister has a history of UTIs and found them REALLY effective). Blueberries are helpful too. And if you go w/ the antibiotics, of course supp w/ probiotics (hours away from when you are taking the antibiotics.)

Here's a couple threads on this topic from MDC: http://www.mothering.com/discussions...tics+pregnancy
    http://www.mothering.com/discussions...ad.php?t=66916