Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I'm new and I have one big question page

divafern is offline Member

I'm new and I have one big question

Primal Fuel
    Hi,

I'm just getting started on the diet (still reading the book). Actually started the diet a week ago after reading Good Calories/Bad Calories and then found this. Yay!

Anyway, I'm 40 year old lady, former carbohydrate addict, (favorite food: pasta, ate a 'little something sweet' every single day, sometimes several times a day). I'm carrying extra pounds (195 at 5'4') and my biggest motivation is seeking out maximum health (even above the weight loss!). I have a 1000 reasons why I am doing this but I won't get into that here, let's just say my body is starting to feel more like 60 than 40.

So my question is this - my biggest complaint is that currently I'm suffering from a fairly awful case of plantar fasciitis and am having to wear foot orthos and very supportive shoes all the time. I long for being able to be barefoot or in vibrams but my question to you forum members is -

Should I start now (barefoot, vibrams, etc.) and deal with the pain and let the diet and lifestyle do it's magic and expect the plantar fasciitis go away gradually OR should I keep wearing my ultra supportive shoes with the ortho inserts until I lose some of these pounds and after I feel the effects of the rest of the program, then venture into barefoot land?

Also, this is just curiosity, and sorry if the book answers this, does anyone know how long until my body "recovers" from all the carbs I've been high dosing on all my life? Does the system do an about face or does it take time for things (hormones, etc) level out?

groquette is offline Senior Member
    Oh, my! This is exactly how I found MDA -- I read Good Calories, Bad Calories and started immediately, then searched for a week or so until I found Mark's blog. I'm also 5'4" and started at 185 lbs.