Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Autoimmunity on Primal page

SkyePatridge is offline Junior Member

Autoimmunity on Primal

Primal Fuel
    Hey there,

I'm new to the MDA forum, so I'm sure this has been discussed before, but maybe people will still like to weigh in.

I'm a long-time voyeur of the whole Primal and Paleo lifestyle. I've always known it made sense, and that it would improve my condition ("unspecified autoimmune arthritis" - don't you love it?), but it took me nearly 3 years of gradual adoptions to really jump into the Primal pool. So now, 1 month in, I'm feeling better than I probably have in my entire adult life. However, I had a recent arthritic flare-up and I'm uncertain what may have caused it. I am currently removing dairy and eggs for a month to see if there is a sensitivity. As a result of the flare-up however, I came across the Autoimmune Protocol and I was curious if anyone has any experience with this - or with autoimmunity on a primal diet. Like I said, I'm new to all this and at this point, I'm the only person I know dealing with autoimmunity strictly through diet. Any insights, tips, etc is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Aafke is offline Junior Member
    Dr Terry Wahls is treating autoimmune diseases with Paleo principles. She has MS and got herself out of a zero gravity wheelchair and is walking and cycling again.
    Watch her TEDx speech on you tube.
    I have just finished her book: ''The Wahls Protocol: How I Beat Progressive MS Using Paleo Principles and Functional Medicine'' Her protocol is more severe than the Primal Blueprint, I love the Primal Blueprint because it is so accessible and user friendly. But if you have a serious disease, then serious measures may be needed.

I hope this is of help to you and that you will continue to great health.