Thread: Vappid's log - stardate -309274.96 page

Vappid is offline Junior Member

Wink Vappid's log - stardate -309274.96

Shop Now
    Greetings!

Today is Day 6 of my rebirth into a primal lifestyle. I figured I would start keeping this Journal here so that you guys can yell at me when I do something wrong, and tell me how wonderful I am when I do something right. That’s how it works right? In all seriousness though, I’m going to keep this journal so that I can reflect back if I have any tough moments so that I can review how far I have come. I am going to repeat much of what I said in my intro post in the other forum here so that the first post in my journal has some background.

I'm a 34 year old man, I like long walks on the beach. I'm a brand spanking new beginner, my first day of primal was Saturday 4/5/2014. I have managed to cut all grains and grain products from my diet. The first trip to the grocery store on Sunday 4/6 was eye opening.

Over the past 20 years I have noticed a complete change in my behavior and personality. When I was young, I ate fruit, veggies, and meat, and had no sweet tooth at all. I had never tasted fast food or store bought sweets until I was around 13, this is just the way my mother did everything, she wasn't necessarily trying to be health conscious.

I was in the Military from 1997-2001. This is where I learned my love of beer. Since then I have been drinking beer FAR too often. I have come to the unscientific conclusion that I am addicted to starchy carbs, which make me want to drink beer, and vice versa. On days I eat bread of any kind, My blood sugar drops, it makes me want beer, I go home and binge drink, which leads me to the hangover and subsequent carb loading the next day. I have been reading all over the place and have come to the conclusion that carbs just don't work well for me. To be clear, it's not just carbs that make me drink, but it's a trigger.