Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is there a tasty substitute for sour cream - or should we care? page

Seraffa Guest

Is there a tasty substitute for sour cream - or should we care?

Hi. Yes - I know about the carbs per tablespoon......it's RIGHT THERE on the package of Breakstone's whether it's "reduced fat sour cream" or "regular sour cream"....I KNOW....but what my body's telling me is that "I''m heading to the sour cream because I know I shouldn't use the yogurt (too many carbs), and that sour cream is NICE AND TANGY." MMMM....tangy....

As an OBESE beginner, I humbly confess that it's very hard to turn away LESS THAN A PINT of sour cream AT ONE SITTING as a "food source", although I know I'm going to gross out some people completely. But hey - I'm FAT. I'm here to TRY AND FIND ANSWERS. If I don't ask, then I don't GET any answers, right?

Has anyone resolved any cravings for tangy dairy products - and what did they do about it?

Grol is offline Senior Member
    I have 100+ pounds to lose and I am dropping it rapidly with yogurt, cream, creme fraiche, pastured sweet butter, cultured butter and sour cream in my diet. I can't quite drain a pint in a meal, and I think you should probably knock that off, but if your carbs are low enough to get you burning fat (in ketosis) then there's a use for these products. Mine is mostly homemade and organic, all full fat, and used daily unless I fast. Some studies show fat loss accelerates with yogurt. One assumption is the probiotics help. I am sticking 90% to cultured products for that reason. If you're not ketogenic, I'd bet they will kill any chance of weight loss. If you are then fats are the fuel you burn.

Helen in Oz is offline Senior Member
    more important to deal with the self-control/portion size issues, I think. If you can't convince yourself that sour cream is a condiment used in cooking in moderate amounts, just don't buy the stuff. Eat something else.