Thread: Poison chicken page

Sigmoid is offline Senior Member

Thumbs down Poison chicken

Shop Now
    This is a cautionary tale that a chicken is not always a chicken (by any other name).

I was at the ShopRite, and bagged a large, oven roaster hen from Perdue farms. Foil packed, not frozen. Now I've had some weird experiences with Perdue farms chicken before, I once got an upset stomach after eating some fattier parts, which is weird as I love chicken skin, and practically grew up on drumsticks.

Now yesterday I roasted the bird, and ate a drumstick and some spare skin. Enter the posion part. I woke up bloated, threw up several times, had diarrhea that smelled like long-dead roadkill with a highly offensive chicken fat odor. There were some points during the day when I felt like calling the ambulance. Thankfully by eating some mashed turnips, drinking water and taking some carbo activatus pills, I brought myself back in the land of the living, but I'm still feeling quite sick.

I have no bloody idea what the Perdue people feed those bloody chickens, but I'm sure it's nothing to write home about. I'll NEVER buy that shit again, and neither should you. It's literally poison chicken.

Graycat is offline Senior Member
    That's terrible. I very rarely eat chicken these days and when I do it's only breast meat, thoroughly cooked. I also get organic. I realize it doesn't mean much, but still a step up from Perdue and Tyson.

The symptoms you describe kind of sound like salmonella poisoning. Was your chicken cooked long enough? Unlike beef, chicken and pork require thorough cooking in order to be safe to consume.

Then, maybe you got a sick chicken, or one that's been dead for a while before being processed. No surprise there. After seeing Food Inc. some years ago I was appalled by the disgusting conditions the birds live in and what they are being fed.
    Last edited by Graycat; 03-13-2014 at 03:46 PM.

eats.meats.west is offline Senior Member