Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Night time cramps in legs page

Gatherer is offline Junior Member

Night time cramps in legs

Hi everyone I am a newbie to the Paleo diet and need some advice. I used to get painful Charlie horses in my legs during my sleep. I am taking magnesium for this and haven't had the problem in quite a while now. Now that I have eliminated the grains and eating more meat, they are back again even though I am still taking the magnesium. I found in the past that when I ate too much meat that's when they would occur. Anyone have any advice? Thanks!

Leida is offline Senior Member
    For me it is either vitamin B or Magnesium. If I do not take multivitamin that includes the former or Magnesium I get cramps during the night or when I am working out.
    My Journal: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread57916.html
    When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be.

DFord is offline Member
    For me I used to get these too. Magnesium, potassium and staying properly hydrated helped.

Hannakb is offline Senior Member
    Have you tried taking the magnesium transdermally?
    Epsom salt baths or magnesium oil?

Sent from my HTC_PN071 using Tapatalk

Tom B-D is offline Senior Member
    I got these shortly after transitioning to Primal, but they went away after a few weeks. Seems like it's usually a mineral deficiency (Mg)

Gatherer is offline Junior Member
    I know it's a deficiency, I seem to only get them when I have had too many meat meals. The pills were helping before but not now.I am hesitant to eat too much meat. I do rotate what I eat and I try and get the best I can. I don't want to go back to eating grains again. Maybe I will try to eat more fish and chicken and see what happens. I will also try to drink more water

catgirl320 is online now Senior Member