Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Diane's Purple Journal of Primality page

DianeThePurple is offline Senior Member

Diane's Purple Journal of Primality

Primal Fuel
    Hi all! Thought I should jump on the bandwagon and post one of these. No idea how frequently it will get updated.

Right now life is all about adjusting to my new job. (Still having occasional moments of OMG SQUEEEEEEE I GOT THE JOB!) This is my second week. The people are nice, the product is actually going places, and we get to make decisions that affect our own destiny! I'm still learning how stuff works, and don't have access to enough systems to cause any serious damage yet. I'm sure I'll get into the swing of things soon enough.

The new workplace has a gym! I peeked in last Thursday and did some sprints on one of the bikes. I'll probably keep doing free-weight exercises at home, but it's nice to have some machines I can use. For a nerdy workplace, the gym sure was crowded.

There is also a cafeteria. Decent salad bar, and they make a very yummy bacon cheeseburger (which they are happy to do bunless) for only about $4.

The one down side is the commute. 40 miles, 39 of it on the freeway... I am going to have to learn some serious stress management techniques. At least I'm going from LA to OC so traffic is not uniformly awful, but it has these stops & starts that are utterly inexplicable. Things that are utterly inexplicable tend to enrage me. Not really good for my health, that. And the extra time spent commuting means I'm likely to stay up later in addition to getting up earlier.

Also there is free food at the drop of a hat. Most of it from the doughnut or beer kingdoms. More annoying than really tempting.

Once I get settled in to my new routing, I'm going to look at ramping up my workouts. I'm at a decent weight (62 kilos, about 136 pounds) but I am still more fat than fit.