Thread: Meal planning for 9-day backpacking trip page

skookum is offline Senior Member

Meal planning for 9-day backpacking trip

Primal Fuel
    I don't consider myself an endurance athlete. In fact, I've never really considered myself an athlete at all. Altho, I suppose if I'm going to schlep a 40+-pound pack 114 miles over 9 days thru the Olympic National Park, I'll be needing some real endurance. I'm looking at 12-18 miles per day, big elevation gains, a rest day at a hot springs in the middle.

I am so not new to hiking, but I am new to hiking and being Primal. As I just posted in my 30-day Challenge Journal, I've never given nutrition a thought beyond having snacks and dehydrated gourmet 2-person meals in my pack. That won't work this time, for obvious reasons, and I don't have the money to buy Paleo-paks, nor the desire.

I will be dehydrating and packing my own meats, vegetables, and powdered sauces to use as dinner food on the trail. Breakfast will be the customary coffee with powdered whole milk rather than fancy half-n-half. I'll have daily multi-vites and fish oil pills as I do every day, and protein powder with more powdered whole milk to mix up in pure fresh mountain water. I'll pack dried local strawberries, cherries and blueberries with almonds and coconut flakes for a bit of extra snacky carbs each day.

From all that I can measure out my macro-nutrient profiles on Fitday, but how do I set my goals? Where do I set them? I'll need to know how much to bring each day. I suspect that my normal intakes would not be sufficient, or balanced to my needs.

My normal every day patterns involve 100-120 g of protein/day, as much fat as I can shove in my face, and around 50-80 g carbs/day. I'm 6'4", 215# (235# 3 months ago, woot!), generally moderately active, and rather healthy. Day-hiking and backpacking are my passion.