Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Primal Journal (Lora) page

LoraEwinaga is offline Senior Member
    Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hi all!

I'm Lora, 27, living in Belgium and the Netherlands (long distance relationship, to make a long story short), work full time as a PhD student in History, and have way too many hobbies (dancing, crafting, gardening, reading, cooking, writing, ...).

I studied Archaeology, and one of the things we learned about in the first year was the paleolithic diet, and the human digestive system (not only the human one, but also that of grazing animals, meat eaters etc in comparison). Back then, it must have been 2004 or 2005, this diet without grains and legumes seemed to make so much sense to me, that it surprises me now that I didn't make the change to primal eating there. then. that very instant.
    Instead I subsisted on fruit and raw vegetables to compensate for sh*tloads of beer and junkfood.

I have struggled with my weight since early childhood, went from caloric restriction (lunch = one tangerine + one pear + 10 cherry tomatoes, sounds familiar?) to low carb to eating clean (with grains) to paleo/primal.
    This whole diet journey started in 2008. At this point I weighed around 77kg (=167.5lbs). This was the heaviest weight I had ever had, and for me it was the limit. Something had to be done. I reduced my caloric intake to about 1200-1400Kcal a day. Caloric restriction was simply something I couldn't maintain, which I guess doesn't come as a surprise to you primal folk! I did manage to loose about 8kg though, which did motivate me to start exercising again (I hadn't done anything active since I gave up ballet age 14). At this time I mainly did group classes at the gym, like BBB, Zumba, Pilates, Yoga, Ab workouts etc.