Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Non-Paleo RN wife...help! page

nphowe is offline Junior Member

Non-Paleo RN wife...help!

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hello there! This is my first time posting here, so bear with me.

Quick backround: I'm 32 now. I was heavy and sick for a long time. Counted calories and dropped 70lbs while my wife dropped 30 in the same fashion. I was thinner but still sick with gut issues. Been running paleo for a couple months now and have lost 10lbs but improved body composition and overall health. I'm very pleased by the results. I'm at 230lbs now and dropping.

My problem is that I'm getting a ton of push-back from my wife over my diet and lifestyle. At points, out of concern for the family's health, I made bacon and eggs for breakfast instead of pancakes. Instead of margarine on their bread, I've given them grass-fed butter. Instead of the sugar-laden grocery-store spaghetti sauce, I made my own sauce out of fresh tomatoes and veggies, local grass-fed beef, and some seasoning. All very small changes.

My wife is an RN who graduated nursing school in 2005, so her education is certainly not ancient. She is convinced that I'm killing myself and our children with this diet. It started with her just treating my like a hippie or a witch doctor and making fun of my diet somewhat incessantly, but I didn't let it bother me. Now she won't permit the kids to eat the grass-fed butter or grass-fed beef or pork. The whole milk and eggs from the farm down the street are also out of the question. The kids are on a SAD of cereal, sandwiches, and pasta (or on good days, grain-fed meat and canned veggies with noodles/rice).

When my wife tells me I'm going to die of a heart attack in my 30s because of my high fat and saturated fat intake, I know it's coming from a place of love. Still, it's difficult for me to hear because while my health is improving everyday, she's constantly tired, achey, and symptomatic in a host of other ways.