Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dealing with mental sluggishness

Hi,

I'm very new to primal living, only read part of the book and had no chance to follow these forums.

I have one question which needs a quick answer.

After cutting 100% of grains (bread, pastry, rice, polenta etc.) I had two immediate reactons:

Good - my eczema disappeared from my hands

Bad - I feel mentally sluggish, even if eating plenty of carbs from fruit (papaya, oranges, banana,blueberry)

How do I get my brain back?

Give it time. It takes a couple of weeks for your body to convert over to fat metabolism and get back on your game. It's worth the wait!

In your face, Space Coyote!

Comment

Yeah, it's really a matter of time. I went through the same thing; I supplement fish oil and some ginko and it REALLY helps. Some caffeine doesn't hurt either

Comment

Omega 3 oil with every meal. Buy the liquid as it's much cheaper if you can tolerate the taste. Good luck

Comment

How many carbs are you eating? Don't forget that fruit is high in fructose which causes a surge of insulin. That will definitely make you feel mentally sluggish!

Comment

Don't eat the fruit right now. You are going through the low-carb flu and having any source of carbs will just make it last longer. Go zero-carb for a week or two and then gradually increase back to the 50-100g that Mark recommends.

Primal eating in a nutshell: If you are hungry, eat Primal food until you are satisfied (not stuffed). Then stop. Wait until you're hungry again. Repeat.

Looking for my Cholesterol Primer? Here it is: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum...mer-(Attempt-2)

Ditch the scale!: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread33283.html

My Success Story: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread30615.html

Comment