Pakistani-Style Beef Stew

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pakistani-Style Beef Stew

Making this overnight tonight in the slow cooker, using Ghee instead of vegetable oil.

http://southernfood.about.com/od/crockpotbeefstew/r/bl91c4.htm

I'll let you guys know how it turns out, I'm kinda jazzed ;-)

kuno what does cardamom taste like?? I've never used it before. Well, not that I can remember anyway.

You are what you eat,
    and what you eat eats too - Michael Pollan

Comment

hanna,

Think "Waffle Cone"??? They use ground Cardamom in that. Of course it is a lot different in a savory stew...but it still gives a sweet aroma, along with the cloves. It might sound weird, but they do this a lot in South Asian cuisine.

Comment

I like it. A fun recipe to play with, though I'd probably go with lamb over beef as my protein "Waffle cone" is a great metaphor for the aroma of cardamon.

Kuno - what do you use to eat this if rice and flatbread are out of bounds?

Comment

Kuno, I made something similar last night with ground beef. Added some swiss chard to it for extra nutrients. I thought of you when I made fresh garam masala last night.

Comment

Geoff,

Coupla things. I agree with you on the Lamb, or even Goat---just a little pricey for me at the Halal store down the hill, so I went with Beef.

It's for a dinner party, so I'm going to make rice for them, and Cauliflower "Rice" for me. (If I made Naan...I would HAVE to eat Naan!)

I know the recipe looks a little daunting, but most of the ingredients are just spices. I'll be hella short of time tomorrow, so I'm putting it in the Slow Cooker tonight.

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm....Cardamom <3

Comment

maba,

I bow down before Thee...

Thanks for thinking of me! We have to figure out a way to get together and cook sometime <3

Comment

Goat&#39;s a strong call. 10 years in Miami gave me much respect for Caribbean curried goat.

Cauliflower "rice" is a great idea. Thanx.

Comment