Primal Sweet Potato Recipes?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Primal Sweet Potato Recipes?

So I thought that cooking a sweet potato was just like cooking a regular potato: cover it with a little oil, wrap it with seran wrap, and throw it in the microwave for ten minutes. Apparently that's not how you do it, because mine came out as a dry, wrinkly, inedible sweet potato-resembling mound. I could use some help here. XD

So does the MDA community have any suggestions?

For one medium sweet potato, I would poke a few holes and put it in the microwave for 5 minutes. After that, I would check it and probably turn it over to cook a while longer.

A recipe that uses sweet potatoes
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

Comment

I've been cooking a whole batch of them at once. Wash potato(es) but don't dry. Place them bare, in the crockpot on low for 8 hours. They come out perfectly moist and soft.

Comment

Cut into 1/2" sliced
        Coat with melted coconut oil (I put a bunch on the pan and melt in the oven then just smear the slices around)
        Spread out on a flat baking pan
        Sprinkle garam masala to taste (I like a lot!)
        Bake at 375F for 15 minutes
        Turn over and sprinkle more garam masala
        Cook an additional 10-15 minutes

Comment

I usually put 5 or 6 in the oven at a time at 425. Wrapped in foil with a pat of butter for 120 minutes.

Another one I like is to take 2 large baked sweet potatoes and 3 eggs mashed and mixed up. Add 1 tbsp of cinnamin and bake at 350 for 30 min. Comes out great and tastes good.