Chicken Stock Newbie Here

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chicken Stock Newbie Here

OK so I roasted my first chicken recently and saved all the bones and what not from the carcass.

I've also been saving all my vegetable trimmings, like the greens from radishes and beets, celery and carrot pieces, etc.

From my understanding, I can throw all of this into a crock pot, fill with water, add some (1/2 cup?) vinegar and let it heat for 12 hours or so. Afterwards, just pour through a sieve to strain out the solid pieces. That's how to make chicken stock.

My questions:
    1) Do I have the procedure correct?
    2) How much water should I use to make stock from the carcass of 1 roasting chicken?
    3) Any salt or anything else needed? I notice store-bought bullion is mostly salt.

There are a few recipes in the PB Cookbooks that require chicken stock, and I have a borcht recipe I've been meaning to try that also wants chicken stock.

I've never done it before, so any tips to make this experiment "idiot proof" (hey, that's me) would be appreciated. Thanks!

You got it: simmer bones in weakly acidic water for hours, then strain out solids. You'll want to skim the foam that forms (affects the taste), and no need to salt.

I have not to this date found a standard amount of water to be used for stockmaking, other than "enough to cover everything". That usually ends up being a lot of water since bones don't stack very efficiently, so the next step after simmering for however long you're doing it (12-48 hours for poultry, usually) is to reduce the strained stock to about a pint per pound of bones. At that point you're about ready to use it in whatever you want: soups, reduced for sauce, added to shredded meat to add moisture and flavor, the list goes on.