Is weird to not experience carb flu?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is weird to not experience carb flu?

I'm new to the paleo lifestyle, but I tried Adkins years ago. Everyone told me when I tried Adkins that I'd feel very tired at the least and actually sick at the worst when I cut my carb intake. I didn't. I actually felt great. My energy levels went through the roof. When I started talking about paleo at work, my coworkers were telling me the same thing. There are several people that are a few months ahead of me in the quest to be Grok that were telling me about the carb flu. Once again, my energy levels went through the roof. I haven't felt sick at all. On the contrary, I feel a lot better. Is that strange?

I don't think it's strange but is perhaps unusual. I think it indicates that your leptin and insulin weren't too mucked up when you started, i.e. your body is not resistant to burning fat and ketones as it's main source of fuel, as most bodies ravaged by the SAD are.

Are you very active? I think that can help.
    F 5 ft 3. HW: 196 lbs. Primal SW (May 2011): 182 lbs (42% BF)... W June '12: 160 lbs (29% BF) (UK size 12, US size 8). GW: ~24% BF - have ditched the scales til I fit into a pair of UK size 10 bootcut jeans. Currently aligning towards 'The Perfect Health Diet' having swapped some fat for potatoes.

Comment

I never had the carb flu. I attributed my lack of flu to the fact that I have always used good fats coming from a WAP background. I say enjoy the energy.

Comment

I'm not very active. I'm probably more active than most in my field (IT), but still not what I'd call very active. My diet was carb heavy, but a lot of that was potatoes, beans, peas, etc. I mainly ate what I or my family grew. 90% of the meat came from animals I killed and processed.

Comment