Need Some Expert Opinions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Some Expert Opinions

I've been eating primal for about a month now. I still weigh the same as when I started. I need to lose about 20 lbs, I'm not worried about the weight. I'm still figuring out what works for me. I know I ate too many nuts and cheese the first couple weeks so now I have cut those out. I've known for sometime now that grains were the cause of most health problems and I don't plan on starting them again. In fact I don't miss them.

This is where I need opinions. I can't afford to feed my family grass fed beef, all organic produce, free range chicken etc. It's just too expensive right now. I'm just wondering if eating corn fed beef, bacon with nitrates etc may do more harm than good in the long run and maybe that's why some of us don't get the great results?

I am not an expert, and this is kind of a tricky question. More harm than good in relation to what? They will do more harm than the organic, grass-fed, pastured choices. Will they do more harm than a vegetarian diet? Are the veggies organic? I have a suggestion:

Budget more money for food. You'd be surprised where you can cut (cable, cell phone service, etc...). This doesn't necessarily mean to budget enough to get all of your food at the highest quality. It means to try to find a few extra dollars to get pastured, organic eggs and butter and maybe some organic, grass-fed ground beef and broth bones every now and then. Buy organic when you are purchasing "dirty dozen" fruits and vegetables. This will improve your diet considerably.

In the end, eliminating grains and eating real food, even if it is conventional, will still reap benefits. My guess is that the "lack of results" is coming from other things. With a quick search of the forum, you can find folks who have also been slow to see results and you can see the advice they are offered.
    Last edited by Yvonne PHX; 10-21-2011, 10:20 AM.

Comment