Need help re. my visit to the gastro

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help re. my visit to the gastro

I'm a Primal newbie, 8 weeks into the plan and have been suffering IBS-type (gastro-intestinal issues- gas, bloating, diarrhea, stomach pain) right around when I started the plan. I'd been on the Slow Carb diet from Jan. until I started Primal about mid-May. The main difference is that I cut out legumes and ramped up my vegetable intake- lots of broccoli, spinach, cauliflower, artichokes, mushrooms, salads 3-4 times a day to make up for the legumes and added a little dairy (Greek yogurt 3-4 x/week) and some fruit (berries 4-5x /week). I've done some research and my most educated guess is that I upset the balance of stomach flora, and that the fiber intake was too much. I've been following a low FODMAP diet for the past 3 weeks, and last week was good, but I'm very limited in what I can eat, I've been surviving on chicken soup with sweet potatoes or carrots, eggs, steak, hamburgers, and an occasional PB pumpkin muffin.

I went to the gastro today, and she was very uninterested in my diet, FODMAP, PB. She thinks that fiber is causing my issues and did rule out hernia, gallstones, and thinks stomach/colon cancers are very unlikely based on my symptoms. She mentioned stomach bacteria and thinks I have new "bad" bacteria that she wants to kill off. She prescribed a 10 day course of the antibiotic Xifaxan (rifamaxin) and a 30 day course of probiotics (Florastor). I've always heard of people developing stomach issues after antibiotics, I've never heard of taking antibiotics to kill off the bad stuff and using probiotics to restock the good stuff. I can't even tell from the sample's label what kind of probiotics are in Florastor. I'm going to research it before I take anything, but does anyone have any insights into this treatment plan? Any help, opinions, links, would be appreciated.