Hemoglobin too low, couldn't donate blood

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hemoglobin too low, couldn't donate blood

I feel like a total reject! I've been donating blood every two months since I was 18 years old, and today my hemoglobin level was beneath the required 12.5. The first test was 12.2, the second test was 11.7. Two months ago, I was 14.5.

Of course, the nurse asked if I'd changed my diet, and I told her that I no longer eat grains or sugar. She seemed mystified, as am I.

After doing a little research, the primal foods that are on the American Red Cross iron-rich list are: shrimp, beef, spinach, tomatoes, and broccoli. I eat all those foods regularly, even more than I did before I started eating primally 3 months ago. Anyone have any additional advice for me?

I am not a doctor, but I do teach Anatomy, so I play one in my classroom Low hemoglobin can be due to anemia, excess hydration, hemorrhage, or pregnancy. I am assuming you would be aware of the last two, so maybe excessive hydration if you have no symptoms of anemia?

Comment

Thank you for putting on your doctor hat, lbd. My daughters are always chiding me for not drinking enough water, so this morning it was unusual for me to drink about 10 oz. of water before heading off to the Bloodmobile. But I always do that before donating, so excessive hydration seems unlikely.

Definitely not pregnant, and I'm unaware of any hemorrhages, my energy levels are fine, so this is mysterious. I found a chart, and I'm just on the low side for my gender and age (F, 54) so I don't think I'm anemic.

From http://www.medicinenet.com/hemoglobin/page2.htm

The normal ranges for hemoglobin depend on the age and, beginning in adolescence, the gender of the person. The normal ranges are:

Newborns: 17-22 gm/dl

One (1) week of age: 15-20 gm/dl

One (1) month of age: 11-15gm/dl

Children: 11-13 gm/dl

Adult males: 14-18 gm/dl

Adult women: 12-16 gm/dl

Men after middle age: 12.4-14.9 gm/dl