Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• lightheaded/dizziness???

Hello all,
    I started Paleo exactly 15 days ago. I lost about 12lbs and for the most part feel great. I experienced several aches and a few weird sensations during the first couple of days, which I just considered detox symptoms. One of which was lightheadedness and mild dizziness when standing after short periods of sitting. I'm an EMT and spend A LOT of time sitting in an ambulance. Also there was a great deal of pollen in the air, so my allergies were acting up, and I thought that also could be the cause. But I still get the lightheaded feeling now when my allergies aren't bothering me anymore. For the most part I think my bodies reached homeostasis. I drink plenty of water and still take my multi-vit (until it runs out). My previous diet was really high in carbs and processed foods, fast food, candy etc... Has anyone had similar sensations? Is it just the drastic difference in diet? Did I uncover something prexisting that all the cr@p food was covering up? I appreciate any insight. This may have already been discussed and I just didn't find it.

Longwinded and thankful
    Mike Chapel

You are describing a symptom of carb flu. I also had the lightheaded dizzies, but all my carb flu symptoms went away completely after about a month. People on the boards recommend different ways to get past it (potassium, more carbs etc) but the only thing I had any success with was time.

Good Luck!

Comment

I get that occasionally. Mainly after lounging around semi-reclined and standing up and moving around quickly. Does your vision tunnel down, too? Mine started after I got in much better shape. My lower resting HR (45-55) and lower BP is the explanation I've come up with; takes a second for the cardiovascular system to catch up, and the blood drains from your brain.

Other than "don't do that" I haven't figured out a cure....

Comment

Mike -