Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Primal for Pets?

Hi all,

I'm a newbie, so please forgive me if this topic has been covered before.

I've been PB for almost 3 weeks and loving it. With the increase in meat around here, I've noticed our 2 cats becoming quite the beggars and lingering around my daughter's high chair in the hopes of some fallen morsels. They've never done this before!

It's made me think I need to give them a primal diet too. They run through their dry food quickly and seem to be starving by the time dinnertime rolls around. Of course, I assume this is due to the carbs in it!

I've been browsing the pet food section and have looked at several more natural-based versions, but all seem to have some sort of grain in them (barley, corn, wheat, etc.).

Does anyone have any recommendations for primal pet food for cats? I found Primal Pet Foods online, but they don't have an online store and there are no vendors around these parts. There is also some frozen stuff at my co-op, but it's expensive! Is there anything else out there?
    The Paleo Periodical
    It's not a Diet. It's a lifestyle.

Orijen. By far the most Primal I have found. My dog thrives on it!
    Ancestral Nutrition Coaching
    Pregnancy Nutrition Coaching
    Primal Pregnancy Nutrition Article

Comment

Orijen is great, so is evo, and taste of the wild. All grain free

Comment

I do Orijen one meal and raw the other. You can buy frozen raw at some pet stores.

I cube and freeze these in a single layer, then bag:
        Beef heart
        Pork shoulder
        Beef liver
        Chicken livers
        Chicken hearts
        Chicken wings no need to ct

In the morning out pull out a mix of frozen cubes. By dinner time it is thawed and ready. Miss K munches through the wings bones and all with no problem. Her coat has never looked better.

Comment