Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Any swing shift, or rotating swing workers out there?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any swing shift, or rotating swing workers out there?

I work a rotating swing shift where in 5 weeks time I work 7 midnights, 7 day shifts, and 4 float days (may be midnights or days). Anyone else work something similar? How are your energy levels?

I've been doing this for eight years now and I cannot remember what it was like to live in a 9 to 5 world. I don't usually have a problem falling asleep when working midnights, but I average only about 5 hours of sleep. On day shifts I average about 6 hours of sleep. I have noticed that I don't feel as tired when I am at work since going primal, however my overall enegy levels have not increased drastically, but it has only been a few weeks so we will see in due time if that changes.

Anyways I did a search and didn't find anything really related to this topic, so some input would be appreciated.

I worked the midnight shift for around 17 years. I'm on a regular day shift now.

I really enjoyed the night shift, but I had always told people that to be able to do it, you had to get your sleep. I also told them to prepare to feel sickish all the time. I saved a bunch on doctor visits because I felt bad often enough that if I was indeed sick, I didn't really know it.
    Started my journey on May 22, 2010:

Beginning weight ~180
    Current weight ~145

Nov. 9, 2009........Nov. 9, 2010.....Jun. 17, 2011
    LDL 155...............LDL 176............LDL 139
    HDL 39................HDL 66..............HDL 95
    TGL 154..............TGL 77..............TGL 49

Comment

Our schedule is SUPPOSED to rotate every 2 months. But I've been stuck on this 5a - 2p shift for a while. Getting up at 4am isn't something I'm getting used to.

Am about to go to the over night shift for Dec/Jan. Should be 7p - 6a 4x a week.

I just try to eat right and sleep as much as I can.