PB and breast feeding?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PB and breast feeding?

Obviously Ms. Grok breast fed her kids, so it would seem that the PB is compatible with breast feeding. I'm thinking of going lower-carb. Today was a really high-carb day at around 250-300 carbohydrates (the culprits were arborio rice, a full bar of dark chocolate, and half a cantaloupe), but normally I'm closer to the upper 100s, maybe 180ish. Does anyone have experience with nursing and going down to 50-100? I'm sure I can do it, I just want to make sure that I won't be a grumpy mess, and that I'll have the energy to take care of my kiddoes (I have two small kids and a 4 month old). Any tips?
    my primal journal:
    http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum...Primal-Journal

I'm not an expert on breastfed babies, although I play one on TV.

It seems to me the paleo/PB diet is the best suited for a healthful outcome for your kids, mainly due to increased amount of omega-3 vs. omega-6 fats.

I always recommend taking plenty of fish oil to women who are pregnant and/or breast feeding. Your kid's brains will thank you later.

I haven't answered your questions really, maybe someone else can get closer for you. Congrats on being a smart mom!!

Comment

I am nursing too, and personally, my energy level suffered a bit when I tried to stay around 75g. 'Baby brain' fogginess came back for me at those levels (though not as bad as it was before I went primal!) so I usually stay in the 100-150g range and that's working really well for me.

Comment

My wife eats about 100g a day and baby is doing great.

Comment

I stayed higher carb (fruit and starchy veggies) when I was nursing and I made sure to eat plenty of fat.

Comment