Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Effects of animal fats in the human body?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Effects of animal fats in the human body?

Hello to everyone - I'm new to MDA-I've been reading a lot of the articles on Marks Daily Apple website (and Caveman Power) and really love the team spirit. Now let me make clear- I'm a big fan of meat. Been on a Primal/ Caveman type plan for 4 weeks now -I lost 21 lbs in the first 3 weeks (which I'm very happy about) but nothing in the past week. I'm exercising regularly but not overdoing it. Cycling to work also but that's only 6 miles a day. I'm wondering if any other MDA fans have watched the 60 min film ' A Diet for all reasons' ? (http://vimeo.com/5753057). It has me slightly concerned as to am I doing the right thing in eating meat to the degree that's suggested by Caveman Power and Marks Daily Apple ?

Any thoughts? I'm enjoying the Primal/Caveman/Paleo lifestyle but don't want to be doing myself longterm damage....

PS - apologies if this has already been discussed before and I've missed it...as I say I'm new to all of this and there is a lot of catching up to do....
    Last edited by sixtyacres; 07-25-2010, 08:10 AM.

Yeah, this kind of stuff make me 2nd guess as well.

Comment

Oy... within the first ten minutes, his argument is sending alarm bells all through me. So many logical/analytical breaks.

1) Correlation does not imply causation. Wheat/grain and potato consumption going down, and beef/milk/poultry consumption going up does not mean people should not eat animals.
      2) He has not at all addressed the drop in physical activity of the American public in the time between his "start" and "end" years.
      3) He mentions fried chicken, double cheeseburgers, milkshakes, and ice cream. Uhh... let's see. Hydrogenated oils, poor-quality meat in the burgers (feed lot, grain-fed, etc.), tons of sugar, etc. Sure, let's go right ahead and blame animal meat fat.