Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Autoimmune protocol... I need more calories.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Autoimmune protocol... I need more calories.

Okay, I am on day three of following the Paleo autoimmune protocol. I'm hungry, and getting hungrier by the day. I have been eating mostly Paleo for the last 6 months, but I had still been eating rice, potatoes, and homemade breads using coconut and tapioca flour (and of course eggs). Now that I need to eliminate those foods I feel like I am starving.

I'm currently at my ideal weight, and I'm exclusively nursing my 4 month old baby. I need calories or my milk supply is going to suffer, and I really don't need to lose weight.

I'm really hoping that after about 30 days I will be able to add back into my diet potatoes or eggs (or both). But for now, I need to go at least 30 days without them. Help, where can I get some calories. I can only eat so much meat... kind of makes me sick after awhile, and spinach doesn't exactly fill me up.

Make the meat cuts you buy fattier. Bone in primal cuts and whole chickens. Fat is your friend, cook your veggies in it to get some more. Find how to make curries and other coconut dishes for more good fat. You can still eat fruit on the AI protocol so have at all these: apples, apricots, avocados, berries, cherries, grapefruit, lemons, oranges, peaches, pears, plums

AI isn't about weight loss or carbs or anything except getting rid of foods most likely to be detrimental to your gut or likely to cause you immune system to go haywire (frequent food allergies). So focus on what you CAN eat and just eat a lot of it if you need to.
    Last edited by Neckhammer; 10-04-2013, 01:19 PM.

Comment