Ketosis

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ketosis

How long should one be in ketosis, if at all, to lose 20 lbs? Is it necessary? Healthy? What are your thoughts? Thanks! I'm a newbie

Absolutely not necessarily, but can certainly be beneficial depending on your personal preference, ability to adhere to the diet, insulin sensitivity, etc.
    My nutrition/fitness/critical thinking blog:

Comment

Lots of great info on ketosis here:

The Eating Academy | Peter Attia, M.D. The Eating Academy | Peter Attia, M.D.
      Ancestral Nutrition Coaching
      Pregnancy Nutrition Coaching
      Primal Pregnancy Nutrition Article

Comment

Ketosis can be an option for people that have lots of fat to lose, but when getting leaner and physically more active, they should not stay in ketosis permanently if they want to keep on to lean body mass. Being in ketosis is short term solution, unless you have a serious medical condition that makes it a lesser evil, so don’t ride the ketosis bandwagon too far…
        "All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident."

- Schopenhauer

Comment

Originally posted by Gorbag View Post
          Ketosis can be an option for people that have lots of fat to lose, but when getting leaner and physically more active, they should not stay in ketosis permanently if they want to keep on to lean body mass. Being in ketosis is short term solution, unless you have a serious medical condition that makes it a lesser evil, so don’t ride the ketosis bandwagon too far…
          Agreed.

Comment

Originally posted by Gorbag View Post
            Really? Have you even read Peter Attia's blog? He has some great posts about athletic performance and ketosis.

I'd love to see some links to back up your assertions.

Comment

Originally posted by Dragonfly View Post