No announcement yet.

Where do we get all the carbs we need?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where do we get all the carbs we need?

Hi All

I'm very new at this but if you need to maintain 50 to 100 grams a day (Primal Sweet Spot for Effortless Weight Loss), where should they come from. It seems with the meat and veggies I eat everyday, as well as a small amount of fruit, my carbs are not even adding to 50. What am I not eating or eating enough of?

Adding in some fruit or starches will get you in that range pretty easily.
    Depression Lies

Comment

Eat more veggies, things like squash, more fruit like a banana, sweet potatoes. Dark chocolate, if you like.

http://maggiesfeast.wordpress.com/
      Check out my blog. Hope to share lots of great recipes and ideas!

Comment

I'm also new and trying to hit 100 carbs a day for maintenance-harder than I thought it would be! I'm adding some things like plantains and bananas, honey, a larabar here and there, and potatoes and rice. Today I managed to hit 106 carbs, but I had pizza for lunch
        *Sara*

Comment

One cup of cooked plantain slices has about 50g of carbs.

One cup of cooked sweet potato has like 40g.

One medium banana has about 30g.

This isn't rocket science.
          Eat some food for those carbs.
          “You have your way. I have my way. As for the right way, the correct way, and the only way, it does not exist.”
          ~Friedrich Nietzsche
          And that's why I'm here eating HFLC Primal/Paleo.

Comment

Affordable meal starch: potatoes, sweet potatoes, green plantains, rice
            Fun/variety meal starch: parsnips, taro, butternut squash, lotus root

Lots of tomatoes, onions/leeks, carrots, and beetroots are nutritious and easy to incorporate

Plus 1-2 fruit servings as snack or dessert
            37//6'3"/185

My peculiar nutrition glossary and shopping list

Comment