The Cost of Eating Healthy

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Cost of Eating Healthy

Damn, eating primal food seems to be expensive! Been doing this for 2 months now. Before starting primal eating, I was spending about $200 (CAD) on groceries. For the past 2 months it's been almost double that. What gives? Unfortunately I don't have any receipts from before to compare. Anyone have cost-saving tips.

Relevant info: Single male, no kids, 6', 185#, office job, doing Stronglifts.

I literally started primal eating two days ago, but did my first shopping trip yesterday and spent less than $50. This gave me enough food for at least a week. But I'm a female so I eat less than you, plus I do two intermittent fasting days a week, so that saves some money there Also, a big part of it is where you live and what shopping options you have. My $50 may translate to $100 for where you live and shop. I am keeping it really simple, since I'm just starting out-chicken, veggies, eggs, some naturalish sausages I got on sale, and then I made Mark's tomato soup and spicy meatball recipes-both were cheap to make and will be several meals worth. Also, I'm loving tbe pancake/egg recipe that's posted in the recipe section-only costs a few cents to put together, takes a couple minutes to make and they taste awesome!
    *Sara*

Comment

If you're eating more meat, seafood, and vegetables, and organic, wild-caught, and grass-fed, and less cheap grains, you can easily double your costs.

Comment

I'm not sure if you're eating all grass-fed and pastured, but you don't have to. If you stick with lean cuts of meat such as boneless, skinless chicken breasts, top round roasts, etc., as well as whole squid or clams/mussels that will save you some money. I buy these things along with grass-fed ground beef every week.