Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mayo? Yeah or Na

Hi all,

I am new to launching on the adventure of going primal and I have a quick question. Is Mayonnaise ok or should I steer clear?

Depends on the ingredients. If you make it yourself, using eggs, olive oil, lemon juice, salt, then it's fine.

I would stay the hell away from store bought mayonnaise unless you plan on making it your 20%.

Ingredient list of a popular store-bought mayonnaise: SOYBEAN OIL, WATER, WHOLE EGGS AND EGG YOLKS, VINEGAR, SALT, SUGAR, LEMON JUICE, CALCIUM DISODIUM EDTA, NATURAL FLAVORS.

Nooooooo....
    F 28/5'4/100 lbs

"I'm not a psychopath, I'm a high-functioning sociopath; do your research."

Comment

eggs and oil, what's to argue with?

edit: as above, that's homemade stuff i'm talking about

Comment

I make my own and it is delicious.

Comment

Definitely avoid any store bought mayo. It's easy enough to make on your own if you have a food processor or immersion blender. It might take you some time to get used to the different flavor of the homemade mayo, but eventually you will lose your taste for the store bought stuff.

Comment

I make my own, but have found I like to substitute sour cream for mayo in most things ... it's a lot easier.

Comment

One of the very few non-Primal things lingering in my house is mayo. I use the olive oil kind, but it still has some soybean oil in it. I consider it my 20%, but I do need to get into the habit of making my own. I don't use mayo that often anyway, occasionally I plop a bit into dips/dressings to mellow out the sour cream or yogurt tang a bit. I've found that using avocado in tuna/chicken salads is much tastier, and I don't do sandwiches very often anymore since making paleo/primal bread is an event. Once this jar is gone, it stays gone.

Comment

It's easy to make mayo. Olive oil - make sure it's not the strong flavor extra virgin kind, egg, egg yolk, lemon juice and Dijon mustard.