Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why can't I eat ham!?!?!

Hi,

I am new to being primal and just bought the e-book last night. I read the whole thing and, unless I am mistaken, it said to eliminate ham from my diet but I don't remember reading why. I am wondering if there is something in it that will make my insulin levels too high (not a sugar ham but just a regular smoked ham), or if it is the curing process and the chemicals involved?

The same question goes for sliced lunch meats.

please advise, thanks
    Last edited by TOOMBS; 10-03-2012, 01:18 PM. Reason: *clarifying type of ham
    Height 6'5"
    Heaviest weight: 320 lbs
    Starting primal: 275 lbs Oct 1, 2012
    Current weight: 236 lbs Jan 14
    Short term goal: 230 lbs Jan 31
    Long term: 210 by March?

Journal http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread67022.html

Sugar, nitrates, and nitrates would be my very first guess. The sugars is processed meats are going to keep your insulin on a rollercoater, and the nitrates and nitrites (and msg, and whatever other 'yummies' they put in them) are bad news for your health.
    Misti
    Grain Free since 2009, WP from 2005
    ~100% primal (because anything less makes me very sick)
    Goal: hike across Sweden with my grandchildren when I retire in a few years

Comment

I didn't realize that sugar was added to smoked hams. I realize that nitrates are bad but I am really just concerned with keeping insulin low at this initial jumping off point.

thanks for the input
      Height 6'5"

Comment

I don't think the sugars are very significant, nor are the nitrates.

But then again, when I hit a plateau and I stopped eating things with "hidden" corn syrup and nitrates I started losing weight again. Coincidence?

Comment

I'm thinking it probably isn't a coincidence, youmustvotenato.