Does fasting cure acne?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does fasting cure acne?

Hey guys. I'm suffering from acne for many years now. Although the problem isn't the same as before, since I cut dairy completely, started primal, supplements, sun exposure, dandelion tea and cut back on the soaps, I'm still craving a total clear skin.
    I've tried accutane twice and many prescriptions before with no luck.

It's worth mentioning I'm very strict. No veg oils, no wheat etc.
    Maybe the occasional beer once a week, but It's hard to believe that's the cause.

I've noticed I get flares if I keep going high carb.
    I guess it's related to staying on high levels of insulin all the time, but I'm no expert.

Thing is, I'm trying to gain weight and muscle

I'm looking for advice, plus I've got a question for the fasting guys here. Did it help your acne? Was it 24h or IF?
    Last edited by Gilleh; 09-05-2012, 03:18 AM.
    Everything is bad for something - How do you feel today?

Which foods do you think flare up your acne? I've noticed a ton of improvement in my own acne since going primal. If I consume any grains, sugars (from desserts, not necessarily fruit), or vegetable oils, I get flare ups.

Fasting helps regulate your digestive system which should also improve acne. But it may not be ideal if you're trying to gain weight/muscle (I'm in the same boat). Try to figure out your acne-triggering foods and then cut back or eliminate them from your diet.

Edit: I'm wondering...how effective has dandelion tea been in reducing acne? I know there's a poster on these boards who's big on dandelions...
    Last edited by dirk41; 09-04-2012, 09:57 PM.
    Yes, the real Dirk.

Comment

When I gave up wheat, my skin cleared up a lot, but when I gave up potatoes (and other nightshades in a moderate amount) several weeks ago, my acne has vanished. I've had flare-ups twice now. Both times the flare-ups came two days after I ate potatoes.