Do I need more calories??

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do I need more calories??

Hello Primal friends! I'm brand new to the scene. I started eating Primally on Tuesday of last week, so I'm on day 6. I'm also a brand new meat eater - I've been vegetarian for 17 years and vegan for the last 5. I'm extremely knowledgeable about macro nutrients as far as NON-meat food goes, but since I don't have a clue as to meat, I used Livestrong's Daily Plate to track my calories for the last 2 days. The first day I clocked 997 cals, and the second day (trying reeeeally hard to EAT) I got in 1180. Yesterday's nutrient breakdown was 55% fat, and 22.5% for both carbs and protein (the banana got me). I'm definitely going for weight LOSS - I'm female, 27, 5'4, and 190 lbs. I wasn't at all hungry yesterday after about 900 cals, but I tried to make myself eat because I don't want to deprive my body of what it needs. So does anyone have any advice? Should I take a shot of coconut oil once in a while (lol...but seriously)? Is it ok to have that much of a calorie deficit? I'd like to be able to "listen to my body," but I find that I'm slow to actually recognize physical indicators. Anyway, sorry for the mass of info, I just want to be as successful as possible, and any advice people have would be wonderful! Thanks, everybody!

Can you give an example of your meals and portion sizes...calories seem low.
    Eating primal is not a diet, it is a way of life.
    PS
    Don't forget to play!

Comment

Sure - thanks for the reply!

Cod - 6ish oz
      Spinach - 1 cup
      Olive Oil - 1/2 Tbsp

Lettuce - 3? cups
      Onion - 1 Tbsp
      Cucumber - 1/2 cup sliced
      Avocado - 1/2
      Pepper - 1/2 cup
      Smoked Whitefish - 2-3 oz
      Olive Oil - 1/2 tbsp

Bacon - 2 slices
      Kale - 1 cup
      Garlic - 1 clove
      Lemon Juice - 1 Tbsp
      Green Beans - 1 1/2 cups
      Olive Oil - 1/2 - 1 Tbsp

Banana - 1 med
      Hazelnuts - less than 1/4 cup

2 Eggs