IF - Catabolic state or HGH release

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IF - Catabolic state or HGH release

I am new to IF and have a question that I'm sure has been discussed before on this site. I always thought that skipping a meal (especially breakfast)puts your body in catabolic state and slows down your metabolism. However, I'm now reading that training while in fasting state stimulates HGH.

Any thoughts?

Thanks
    Jack

It doesn't.
    "The problem with quoting someone on the Internet is, you never know if it's legit" - Abraham Lincoln

Comment

IF doesn't put you catabolic state or it doesn't stimulate HGH?

Which one?
      thanks

Comment

No serious catabolism in one or two or even three days of fasting. Check out Mark's blog posts on this subject by searching the bigger search bar on the top of the homepage.

Fasting only helps me add muscle! One meal a day is plenty for many people, especially males.
        Crohn's, doing SCD

Comment

Originally posted by jackson44 View Post
          I am new to IF and have a question that I'm sure has been discussed before on this site. I always thought that skipping a meal (especially breakfast)puts your body in catabolic state and slows down your metabolism.
          Seems legit; I mean you must eat every three hours to stoke the metabolic fire, right? I think you should also start setting your alarm at three hour intervals throughout the night so you don't risk sleeping for more than three hours without a meal as this could be disastrous due to large amounts of muscle catabolism which occur during sleep (which is technically a fast, after all)...

I imagine that if you do this, you'll be tight, thick, and swole in a couple of weeks.
          http://stackingplates.com/

Comment

Originally posted by jackson44 View Post
            IF doesn't put you catabolic state or it doesn't stimulate HGH?

Which one?
            thanks