when is enough enough?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• when is enough enough?

This is the question I keep asking myself. I am 5' 9" and I weigh 205 pounds. I am a 43 year old female. I have been doing primal for many months and altogether I have lost 82 pounds. But I've been stuck at 205 since April.

And here's the thing: I am bipolar and take some heavy duty psychotropics. One of these slows my metabolism and increases my appetite. (Don't bother telling me to get off of the drugs. I wouldn't be a functioning member of society without them. Really.) So this drug leaves me hungry all the time. Primal eating has helped a lot since I don't have carb cravings or blood sugar dips, but I can still eat a lot.

I feel really good. I don't have high blood sugar anymore. I don't have sleep apnea anymore. I don't have chronic acid reflux anymore. I can get around like I never could before. I walk 5 days a week and do 2-3 days of bodyweight exercises. My doctor is thrilled with my current health.

I eat primal probably 95% of the time. I already do a 16 hour fast daily. I have tried more exercise. I have tried VLC. Nothing budges the scale. Is this a plateau, or is this the weight that my body wants to be at?

A typical day of eating:
    Lunch: 5 oz of turkey, romaine lettuce, 1/2 avocado, 1 bell pepper
    Snack: 1 cup plain greek yogurt, 20 almonds, 1 very green banana
    Dinner: 4 eggs, 4 oz breakfast sausage, 1.5 cups brussel sprouts, 1 oz. 85% dark chocolate

Whaddya think?