Coconut oil - solid or liquid?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coconut oil - solid or liquid?

I'm new to this coconut oil thing so I did some Googling. I was reading an article that said extra virgin unrefined coconut oil should be a clear liquid. But when I went to my local health supplement store all I can find were jars of a white, candle-wax-like substance. But they all said extra virgin and unrefined too. I did not see any jars of clear liquid. Which should I get, clear liquid or solid white, and why the difference?

The difference is temperature. Coconut oil is solid to about 24 degrees Celsius.
    “If I didn't define myself for myself, I would be crunched into other people's fantasies for me and eaten alive.” --Audre Lorde

Owly's Journal

Comment

Yep... coconut oil will be solid at store temps. It melts at about 75F, THEN it is a clear liquid. Tasty too...
      “You have your way. I have my way. As for the right way, the correct way, and the only way, it does not exist.”
      ~Friedrich Nietzsche
      And that's why I'm here eating HFLC Primal/Paleo.

Comment

It always ends up as a gas though...amiriteguys?
        Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who has said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own experience.

In the mind of the beginner, there are many possibilities; in the mind of the expert, there are few.

I've shaken hands with a raccoon and lived to tell the tale

SW: 220- 225 pounds at the beginning of January
        CW: 180 pounds

Goals for 2012: Lose a bit more fat and start a serious muscle and strength routine

Comment

Well my house is cold too then. I brought a jar home and it still looks like candle wax. Oh well, easy to to spoon it out that way and eat it like ice cream! lol

Comment

Originally posted by @lex View Post
            Gas??? From coconut oil?
            Not IME... *shrugs*