Calories

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Calories

Hello~ I am new to Primal eating and need a little help... I am under the impression that you don't need to worry about calories. How do you know you are not overeating/consuming too many calories? I want to loose weight and want to make sure I am burning enough to actually accomplish weight loss.

I can only speak for myself, but I've been losing on about 1600 cals per day. There are so many variables that counting calories is really not an ideal way to go about losing weight - height, muscle mass, activity level, hormonal condition, previous weight loss activities...

Your best bet is to post your stats for us and a sample meal plan for critique. Usually people new to the PB go way too heavy on nuts and full-fat dairy and wonder why they aren't losing, so you might want to keep that in mind.

Good luck though! And welcome
    Newcomers: If you haven't read the book, at least read this thread ... and all the links!
    http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread17722.html

F/49/5'4"
    Jan. 1, 2011: 186.6 lbs PBSW Mar. 1, 2011: 175.8 lbs
    CW: 146.8 lbs
    GW 140 lbs
    A proud member of PETA: People Eating Tasty Animals

Comment

Thanks for the info! So my stats meaning height and weight? Ugh ;( not so excited to do that. But if that's what you think I should do...I will. I am also under the impression we should not be eating a ton of dairy, is that right? I have to admit that Primal eating goes against everything my brain knows for weight loss however after reading the book it does make perfect sense to me. I am also trying to get my hubby on board

Comment

It's tough to over eat if your sticking to meat, veggies and good fats. It's the fruit, coconut, nuts/seeds and starchy carbs that rack up the calories.
        http://kitoikitchen.blogspot.com/

Comment

Originally posted by kitoi View Post