Help with white rice

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with white rice

I want to eat white rice as part of my carb cycling. What kind of white rice am I looking for? What should I stay away from? What is the best way to prepare it? I'm sure it's simple as heck, but I'm a rice rookie.

Thanks,

-Voyageur

There is a huge difference between talking about how to do something and getting it fucking done.

Ahh, you beat me to it. I was thinking the same thing.

But I want to go one step further...how to you get a good fluffy rice rather than the instant boiled junk?
    My weak attempt at a journal:http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread35809.html

M/30y/190#

Comment

Instant rice with butter seems plenty fluffy to me :P.
      Height: 6'1"
      Primal start date: July 1st 2011
      Start Weight: 275
      Current Weight: 248
      Stats below as of September 1st 2011 Tested via BodPod
      Body Fat 25.4%
      Fat Mass 63.721
      Fat Free Mass 74.6%
      Fat Free Mass 187.087
      Goal weight: 180-200 lbs(Recommended weight is around 180 for my height but that sounds low)
      Total lost so far: 27 lbs

Comment

Originally posted by Monty View Post
        Ahh, you beat me to it. I was thinking the same thing.

But I want to go one step further...how to you get a good fluffy rice rather than the instant boiled junk?
        The rule of thumb is 1-2-3. 1 cup of raw rice + 2 cups of water/stock = 3 cups of cooked rice.

Bring the rice and water to a boil, cover, and simmer. Once you see "potholes", it's time to stir and probably almost done. Covering it with a lid is essential as that allows it to steam all throughout instead of just catching heat from the bottom. Use a liberal amount of salt so it soaks into the rice while cooking and imparts flavor.
        “The whole concept of a macronutrient, like that of a calorie, is determining our language game in such a way that the conversation is not making sense." - Dr. Kurt Harris