Why cut out fruit?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why cut out fruit?

I am new to this WOE (yay, getting the abbreviations!) and I am just noticing that a lot of people cut out fruit all together. If fruit is a part of the plan why do you cut it out?

Fruit is very carb-y ... and as most people are trying to lose weight (keep carbs low) they cut fruit out... also per carb there are much better (containing greater nutrient density) foods available (read: veggies)
    sigpic

Comment

Plus there are a lot of people here who are trying to improve their insulin sensitivity (after developing insulin resistance through prior bad eating habits), or dealing with hypoglycemia or diabetes... in which case avoiding as much sugary stuff as possible (even the natural kind) is best for the body.
      sigpic "Boy I got vision and the rest of the world is wearing bifocals" - Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid

Comment

I eat a piece of fruit every few days instead of a few pieces every day, as I did in my old way of life. It keeps my sugar/carb-cravings in check by not eating it too often. I also appreciate it more that way too -- feels like a treat. I think it depends on your goals, your activity level, and how your body responds to sugar.

Comment

Thanks for the replies. Has anyone eaten a piece of fruit a day in the beginning to see how they do on it and then decide to eliminate or cut back on it? Also, in the beginning did you find yourself hungry and if so did you snack at all? I am used to eating snacks and so I am finding that I am hungry in between meals and I know my calories are not low. Just wondering if it takes a little while to get used to eating 2-3 meals a day. Thanks for your input!

Comment