Pets PB

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pets PB

A while back I transitioned my two Dacshunds to a diet of "Taste of the Wild" and then slowly incorporated raw chicken necks, then ground beef, and every once in a while chicken backs. Everything I have read and been told on this forum and others was that there poop would stop smelling and be less frequent and whitish. The odd thing is that every once in a while this is true but they both have liquid poop and a clear gel coming from there "back ends" quite often, should I go back to just the "Taste of the Wild"? With that formula they have large smelly feces which really surprises me because it is just sweet potato and meat. This is really confusing to me now and the occasional non smelly white small poop is almost rare. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Kennelmom I need your help

Comment

anyone?

Comment

I've been feeding my dogs raw for 5-6 months. I'm not an expert by any means but I'm guessing what you're seeing is mucous which could be detoxing. it could also mean too much fat. I'm not sure about the "whitish" comment... That would mean too much bone... I also don't know about the plan you are using but there are a couple LARGE raw-feeding yahoo groups you could check in to.

My hounds get only bone, organ meat, fat & muscle. I do not feed them any carbs!

Primal pets = happy pets!

Comment

Thanks, I read somewhere that the mucous is actually their intestines "shedding" but it should only happen every once is a while. The dogs were only getting chicken necks and 85% lean ground beef, so confused. I want to keep them raw because i have seen such positive results but the feces is terrible and my older dog is struggling every time she goes.

Comment

I will definitely check out the Yahoo groups, thanks again

Comment

well, and how you believe you should feed will determine which yahoo group you join and listen to (same as going primal, eh?).