Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to recover after eating processed carbs?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to recover after eating processed carbs?

Hi folks,

I'm still new to being primal, and last night I tripped up. I went to a restaurant, then I ate a slice of bread and a baked potato with my meal. This morning I'm feeling groggy and lethargic.

What should I do today?

I'm planning to do some heavy lifting at the gym, but should I eat before or after working out? Should I IF for the whole day today? What else will help with the recovery?
    Last edited by KataiBates; 11-26-2010, 06:32 AM.

Some heavy lifting is a good plan to sort things out. A forced and uncomfortable fast beyond that might be a bad idea; lame as it sounds, let you hunger/body's needs be your guide. But stick strictly to primal grub to fill that hunger. You'll pop up fine. Amazing what a little gluten will do to ya, imagine living in that fog your whole life like the rest of those around you?

Comment

Just eat Primally like you normally would. No special effort required.

Comment

Thank you, both! I'm off to the gym now, and if I'm hungry later I'll cook up some primal fare

Comment

Lift and let live
          My whole life, I've felt like an animal......but I've ignored my instincts. I ignored what I really am. That will never happen again.

My blog

Comment

A couple of lousy stuffed shells and I feel like I was punched in the gut. I simply don't understand how I was able to scarf down all those carbs for all those years and suddenly, after 7 weeks w/o eating them, they are making me sick. Lesson learned. I learned the same lesson with Yukon Jack 30 years ago and haven't had it since.
            Wheat is the new tobacco. Spread the word.

Comment

Eat primally today, drink LOTS of water, and be nice to yourself.